Humanitarian Development Nexus! What is the New Way of Working? Part 1 (Webinar)

April 26, 2017

Register

Time: New York 09:00   Dakar 13:00   Geneva 15:00   Amman 16:00   Nairobi 16:00 
Length: 60 minutes  

The majority of humanitarian operations around the world are protracted. In these situations the distinction between the approach of humanitarian and development actors can be unclear, and the ways of working do not always fit neatly together. For example, humanitarian planning cycles are typically annual, which do not easily fit with the longer-term, development planning processes. The Inter-Agency Standing Committee (IASC), and the Senior Transformative Agenda Implementation Team (STAIT) under the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) have known these challenges for over 30 years, and there have been a number of attempts to address them, including linking relief, recovery and development (LRRD); the continuum, the contiguum, early recovery, and so on. 

The World Humanitarian Summit’s (WHS) generated the “New Way of Working” which aims to address the “humanitarian-development nexus”.  But is the ‘New Way of Working’ just a new label? Or is it the game changer that will bridge the divide and ensure that humanitarian action and development are mutually reinforcing?

Part 1 of this webinar series will take place features

Izumi Nakamitsu
Assistant Secretary-General and Assistant Administrator, Crisis Response Unit, UNDP, and


Ahunna Eziakonwa-Onochie
Resident and Humanitarian Coordinator, Ethiopia

The webinar will be facilitated by Panos Moumtzis, Team leader and Director, IASC STAIT.

Questions are welcome in advance of the webinar

You can e-mail questions to the STAIT before the webinar or submit them live via the chat & Q&A functions.

All documents relevant to this webinar and a recording of the event are posted on the STAIT website.

For help logging on to the webinar, see the login guide.

Register